I stumbled upon Curious Faith thanks to a devotional piece written by the author, Logan Wolfram, for the shereadstruth.com study on Lent last February. And just recently I loaned it to a friend.

I’m sure this book will be a lot of things, to a lot of people. I happened to be reading it at a time where some crazy life circumstances were swirling around me, people near and dear to me were hurting and confused and broken and all I could do was watch. And pray.

And here we are months later, a nation torn to pieces over an election season we are all still processing. In addition to that, I find myself yet again in a season of uncertainty. Broken pieces of something that make a whole…what I’m not sure yet. So I let these passages soak in, reminding me of the power of salvation. The power of hope.

Once again, I am stopped short in my feelings of helplessness when I read this:

“…walking by faith isn’t living in ignorance or blinded to the hardships around us. Instead, it means facing the hardships head-on, seeing them and choosing to believe that because the Lord is with us, we don’t have to fear the evil.”

Choosing to believe.

“Things may not always work out in our lives in a way that feels to us like the kind of justice we would have chosen. But God is good, and He is called Redeemer. You have to decide. Do you believe that God can redeem whatever brokenness is in your life? Do you believe that He is who He says He is? Do you know that Jesus came and died just for you? Because he did. Just for you. Just to redeem your brokenness. Just to carry your heavy things.”

And what heavy things they are. Anger, disappointment, pain, confusion, death, betrayal, loss. The list goes on and on. And yet, we still have a choice. To believe in the One who can redeem all of it. And when you do, it means “that when you know that God is good and that He creates life from the ashes, there is redemption to be found.”

I love this interpretation of Psalm 37:5-6 from The Message: “Open up before God, keep nothing back; he’ll do whatever needs to be done: He’ll validate your life in the clear light of day and stamp you with approval at high noon.”

He’ll do what needs to be done to ensure that His goodness is evident. No matter how not good it may feel in the interim. He’s still good, whether we choose to believe it or not. And that is where I find my hope. I rest in the knowledge that He is unchanging, and loves me more deeply than I can ever understand, regardless of my circumstances.

 

 

 

