I’ve been trying to faithfully read the Lent study every morning from shereadstruth.com  and this morning was about running from the inevitable rescue from our Savior (i.e. The story of Jonah). Today’s writer posed a very good point; “When I row away from my rough edges, I’m also running from my rescue. We can stop running. We can rest in the One who came to quiet the storm (Mark 4:39).”

Hallelujah and amen.

Living with anxiety, there some days, a lot of days, where every extenuating circumstance seems so completely beyond our control that I become easily overwhelmed. Frustration quickly turns to anger, and anger turns to tears.

I hate this about myself. And I often try to ignore it exists. I’m embarrassed that sometimes I loose control of my emotions because of fear.

The things is, I am a child of God. The One who can calm storms with a word. My human nature makes this so, so hard to remember sometimes. Like yesterday when my washing machine stopped mid cycle and I found myself hand wringing a whole load of whites to put in the dryer while watching my toddler spread a whole basket of clean, dry laundry up and down the hallway…

But my prayer today is that I can remember to stop, and pray first. And remember that my anxiety does not have to control my anger. I can control my anger.  And my God is bigger than my anger. Bigger than my fear.

A reminder from thebettermom.com this morning:

“Psalm 4:4 says, “Don’t sin by letting anger control you. Think about it overnight and remain silent.” (NLT)”

Oh Lord help me remain silent when the washing machine repair man is here this morning. Amen.

